Hātepe – proceed in an orderly manner

Four years of hard slog at University has paid off – a wonderful and supportive school just outside of Christchurch offered me the opportunity I’d been dreaming of and I am officially a teacher.

The first task I set myself was to write the mother of all to-do lists. There must have been at least 50 tasks on it – from ‘get a code for the photocopier’, right through to ‘arrange furniture’, and ‘organise reading groups’ (yep, I really wrote that – before I had even seen my class list). I am a list maker – I have lists for everything and anything.

The night before school began there was not a nervous twitch to be found – I had organised my students first week with military precision. The next day, it rained. Of course, rainy day activities were not on the list *sigh*

Lessons from week 1:

  • When working in a room with 24 other people (who are under the age of 8) things can often get away from the plan.
  • Students don’t want a perfectly planned programme anyway – they want to know their teacher is a human being who is interested in them and cares about what is happening in their lives.
  • Knowing how to set-up routines and expectations is far more important than making reading groups – reading groups aren’t going to work if the students don’t know what to do when they’re not reading!

Most importantly, try to enjoy every moment – planned and unplanned. That first week went so fast that I have only just had time to sit back and reflect on it, two weeks later.

“When you study great teachers... you will learn much more from their caring and hard work than from their style.” ― William Glasser

“When you study great teachers… you will learn much more from their caring and hard work than from their style.”
― William Glasser

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

