Mahi māra – to garden

Again and again in the classroom, my mind returns to gardening; not only because my own plot, so carefully tended last spring, is looking unkempt; but because it is becoming my metaphor for teaching. I have always thought of learning as a journey, but this is changing with everyday spent in the classroom I share with 24 amazing little people.

Initially, the gardening metaphor was applied to developing routines; I was referring to the constant restatement and reinforcement of the rules as ‘weed-picking’. “Got to get those weeds cleared before this garden can flourish”, I would cheerfully announce to other staff.

Then came goal setting and the new metaphor of growing towards the light. “We need a bright goal to strive for, something to guide us… Shine brightest on that which we want to grow…”. Which was of course quickly followed by praise being the water (of course), nourishing and nurturing these budding brain-fruits (do I sound like a loony yet?)

Then, today, I discovered an amazing brain-as-garden concept, used by an expert, which is based on research and facts!

Nathan Mikaere-Wallace has seeded the idea (see what I did there?) that
If the brain is a garden… then endorphins, released by singing, laughing and movement, are brain fertilizer; and that cortisol, released by stress, anger and fear, is weed-killer. 

In short, interactive FUN helps children’s brains to grow; and negativity is killing their brains! Negativity can be sparked by even innocuous comments (think of a parent asking the age-old question “And just what do you think you’re doing… insert first, middle and surnames here” in the most bowel-freezing tone possible – even a sudden “Don’t!” switches off the endorphin taps and turns the cortisol on full).

If my students are unsure of what is happening next, find the learning frustrating, or are always feeling that they (or anyone) are about to receive a bowel-freezing dose of negative attention; then they surely aren’t growing their brains / experiencing quality learning.

My goal for next week is to make sure I see every one of my little charges sing, laugh, and dance around each day to get those brain-fruits fertilising.

Image

Cauliflower grown by author

Leave a Reply

